Skip to Content.
Sympa Menu

fizinfo - [Fizinfo]

fizinfo AT


List archive


Chronological Thread 
  • From: Jozsef Cseh <cseh AT>
  • To: fizinfo AT, "KLTE-ELM.FIZ.", "KLTE-KIS.FIZ.", mind AT
  • Cc:
  • Subject: [Fizinfo]
  • Date: Tue, 2 Nov 2004 15:23:36 +0100 (CET)
  • List-archive: <>
  • List-id: ELFT HÍRADÓ <>

Kedves Kollegak!

A magelmelet irant erdeklodok szamara lehet erdekes az alabbi felhivas,
amit a szervezok keresere tovabbitok.

Cseh Jozsef


Dear Colleague,

(This email has been sent to all on the ECT* Associate Members mailing
Please do not reply to the sender of this email. If you do have any
then send to Jim Al-Khalili
[ AT]
With this e-mail we announce the Proposal for a European Nuclear Theory
group NT* (to be read "NTSTAR", which stands for  "Nuclear Theory for
STructure, Astrophysics and Reactions") and ask you to register your
interest. Please visit  and register as a
member of the NT* so that we may compile an email list as a first step.
As you can see from the names of this list it is very far from reaching
everyone we would like. We therefore call on you to pass this email on to
colleagues and to suggest possible mailing lists it could be sent to. For
an up-to-date ECT* list of Associates is being compiled and this email
will be
sent out to all of them in due course.

If you would like to know more about this initiative then you will find
some details
below (and on the website):

To try to establish a European Nuclear Theory group from which networks
naturally emerge in areas of nuclear theory currently lacking a coherent
democratic voice in shaping the future of the field.

To strengthen and promote the role of European Nuclear Theory (defined
in the context of the new NuPECC long range plan) in building a European
Research Area. The new group should emphasise the importance of nuclear
theory for long term planning (foresight), especially for future
and provide a coherent and representative voice for European nuclear
to input to ESF for future EU framework proposals.

Short-term goals:
To build up a group of subscribers to the NT*, which will then discuss
and vote the charter and elect Executive Board of representatives. The
Board will coordinate further activities, like organization of a workshop
town meeting and establishing contacts with other Nuclear Theory groups
(hadron physics, RIA Theory Working Group), and with funding agencies
and laboratories.

All scientists expressing interest in the European Nuclear Theory are
welcome to subscribe to the NT*. Subscription (i.e. registration) is not
to physicists, theorists, Europeans, or by any other way - the common
denominator is only one: the interest in the European effort in Nuclear

Immediate action:
If you feel that you belong to NT* please subscribe at
You are also most welcome to distribute and forward this e-mail to
anybody you might
think could be interested. This is a one-time announcement and further
communication will be send only to those who subscribe.

Interim governance:
Up to the election of the Executive Board, all actions will be
coordinated by the
self-appointed Steering Committee signed below, which will ensure the
most fair
and democratic discussion and procedures. Please send all messages to Jim
Al-Khalili AT

With our best regards

 Jim Al-Khalili (co-ordinator)
  Jacek Dobaczewski
 Kris Heyde
 Morten Hjorth-Jensen
 Piet Van Isacker
 Karlheinz Langanke
 Horst Lenske
 Paul Stevenson
Ian Thompson
 Jan Vaagen
 Andrea Vitturi
 Jochen Wambach
J.S. Al-Khalili CPhys FInstP
Department of Physics | Email: AT
University of Surrey  | tel: +44 (0)1483 68 68 08
Guildford GU2 7XH     | mob: 0772 959 3624
UK                    | fax: +44 (0)1483 68 67 81

  • [Fizinfo], Jozsef Cseh, 11/02/2004

Archive powered by MHonArc 2.6.19+.

Top of Page